LPRC News‎ > ‎

Tang-Leaze Trophy set to Thrill

posted 23 Apr 2012, 12:25 by Lancashire Powerboat   [ updated 29 Apr 2012, 08:57 ]

The second race of the 2012 season at Carr Mill Dam in St Helens will be held on Sunday 29th April. Powerboat racers from across the North West will compete for the Tang-Leaze Trophy as part of the LPRC Club Championship. Senior and Junior racers will be taking to the water to enjoy the thrills and excitement of powerboat racing. Mick Pillow from Welshpool, will be hoping to continue his winning streak after winning the Turner Trophy a few weeks ago. He will be joined by, other LPRC drivers, and racers from other powerboat clubs, who are all keen to come and join in the challenge.

Matt Palfreyman returning to UK club racing
Matthew Palfreyman from Aughton in Lancashire, will be making his return to UK racing after competing overseas and winning the F4-s 2011 Eurofin Championship in United Arab Emirates (UAE). Matt has already started his 2012 international campaign to retain his title, when in March he took first position in the first race of the season in Doha, Qatar. On Sunday he will be racing his Formula 4 catamaran at Carr Mill. When asked about club racing, Matt said: “I am really looking forward to club racing again. I enjoy the challenge of racing against boats of all different types, especially when the monohulls churn up the water and make it difficult to get past.”

Racing on Sunday will involve boats of different types ranging from the slower junior class up to the faster Formula 2 catamaran boats that can reach speeds in excess of 115mph. 

The Tang-Leaze Trophy has been has been raced at Carr Mill Dam for over 30 years. The trophy was donated by founder members Jack and Elsie Rustbridger, the trophy name was created by combining the names of their old home with that of their new. In 2011, the senior race was won by Graham Palfreyman from Southport, who was racing his Formula 2, and the junior race was won by Charlotte Newton from Lowton, Cheshire. The winners from this years’ race will gain valuable points towards the LPRC Club Championship. The Championship is currently being led by Mike Pillow (seniors) and Charlotte Newton (juniors) although with many more races to come, the challenge for the title, is still wide open.

LPRC Commodore, Brenda Goodman said: “I am excited about the race on Sunday. It will be good to see our drivers taking to the water and getting their boats ready for the British Championship rounds that start next month. The first round takes place at Oulton Broad, in Suffolk and the second round comes here to Carr Mill Dam on Jubilee weekend 2nd and 3rd June. This up and coming National event is very high profile. We hope to see up to fifty boats across the classes and some very exciting close racing is expected. The club race this Sunday is great preparation for all our drivers, who will be competing hard to get the fastest times they can.”

Boats will be arriving throughout the morning with racing starting at 2pm. All Royal Yachting Association (RYA) licensed drivers from any powerboat class can take part. The boats will be split into two classes - there will be 3 heats of both senior and junior racing.

To give boats of varying classes and different speeds, an equal chance of winning, a timed practice session will take place prior to racing. The boats will then start each race on a reverse handicap with the fastest boats starting last. Using this approach means that all boats of different speeds all race to take the honor of passing the chequered flag first. 

The facilities at ‘the Boathouse’ will be open for breakfast from 10am. Anybody can come down to watch or photograph the action, join in the fun, meet the drivers and their mechanics or simply enjoy a tasty snack or a drink at the bar. Following the racing, a presentation ceremony awarding the winning drivers will take place.