LPRC News‎ > ‎

Sensational end to racing season

posted 29 Sep 2012, 06:13 by Lancashire Powerboat   [ updated 29 Sep 2012, 06:24 ]

Over the weekend (22/23 September) the 2012 Powerboat GP RYA British Championships were decided at Stewartby Watersports Club in Bedford.

Six of the seven British titles were to be decided over the course of the weekend, with only the British Hydroplane Championship having one round left to go in October.  

Heading into the weekend there was little separating the top of every championship promising battles of epic proportions.  

GT15 class

In the GT15 Class eight youngsters took to the water for the final weekend of competition. Ben Jelf looked a certainty to retain his title but Charlotte Newton was not going to give up without a fight.

However, true to form, Ben took pole position and all three heat wins to win the weekend and with it secure another British title in his young career.  

Charlotte Newton took the weekends silver medal but it was Tiegen Goodfellow and Thomas Mantripp who were g

The final results for the 2012 Powerboat GP RYA British GT15 Championship were:As the race results came in there was no separating the two oing head to head for the silver and bronze championship medal positions.  

youngsters tied on Championship points, leaving the final result to be settled with a count back of finishing places throughout the season.  

  • 1st Ben Jelf
  • 2nd Tiegen Goodfellow
  • 3rd Thomas Mantripp  

GT30 class

There was nothing separating the two championship leaders of Kevin Hill and Ben Morse heading into the final round of the GT30 class 

Tied on 67 points,  it was all to play for in what has been, without a doubt, the closest championship campaign of the year.  competition. 

Hill secured pole and looked set to push Morse every inch of the way to the chequered flag in this nail biting decider.  

Kevin took two heat wins with Jordan Muckles and Natalie Craddock bearing down on him every inch of the race. Morse was forced to settle for three 4th positions that would see his JPL Racing Team mate Kevin Hill secure the 2012 Championship title and Morse to settle for the silver medal.  

Final standings in the 2012 Powerboat GP RYA British GT30 Championship were:

  • 1st Kevin Hill
  • 2nd Ben Morse
  • 3rd Jordan Muckles  

OSY400 class

The final round of the Championship saw the three OSY400’s take to the water for their final battle of the year. James Marr was looking for one final push to try to steal the championship from rival Luke Hugman.  

Marr was flying and secured the first three heat wins to secure the Stewartby Grand Prix, but three second places for Luke Hugman saw him retain his 2011 OSY400 Championship title.  

Marr took the silver championship medal and Jason Mantripp who has kept us all entertained on and off the water as he’s commentated on the championship classes between his own heats secured Bronze medals in both the Stewartby Grand Prix and also the 2012 Championship.

2012 Powerboat GP RYA British OSY400 Championship results:

  • 1st Luke Hugman
  • 2nd James Marr
  • 3rd Jason Mantripp  

T850 class

In the T850 class reigning Champion Mark Williams was looking to make it four out of four Grand Prix wins in the hopes of securing his 2011 T850 Championship title for another year.  

Williams set the fastest time in qualifying and then went on to win three heat wins to secure both the Stewartby Grand Prix and the 2012 Powerboat GP British T850 Championship title. TopCat Racing’s Mike Pillow took second in the Grand prix in addition to the British Championship Silver Medal. With Bill Owen taking third in the Grand Prix and Team mate David James securing the Bronze Championship Medal.  

The final placings in the 2012 Powerboat GP RYA British T850 Championship were:

  • 1st Mark Williams
  • 2nd Mike Pillow
  • 3rd David James  


Reigning F4 Champion Scott Curtis was in for a busy weekend as he looked to secure the 2012 F4 British title as well as competing in the F2 Class and trying to boost himself up the F2 table.  

Curtis started strong securing pole position and took the first two heat wins. But it was rookie racer Robert Veares that would end the season on a high taking a 4th in the first heat.  

Veares went into a head to head battle with his Dad, Paul and Steve Hoult in the final two heats of the season. In heat two he held both off to secure second place and in the final heat with the absence of Curtis out manoeuvred Hoult to secure the heat win and take the final Grand Prix win of the season in his first year of racing.

Steve Hoult secured the silver Grand Prix Medal and with it the Silver Championship Medal and Paul Veares secured Bronze in both the Grand Prix and Championship as Curtis had done enough in his first two heats to secure the championship title  

2012 Powerboat GP RYA British F4 Championship results:

  • 1st Scott Curtis
  • 2nd Steve Hoult
  • 3rd Paul Veares  


It would be a nail biting finale to the F2 championship with thrills and spills galore. Ten F2 racers lined up for the start of the final Grand Prix of the season.  

The first spill of the weekend came half way through the qualifying session as Sven Hamer crashed out of the session, but it was JPL Racing’s Malcolm Goodman that was back on flying form following disaster at the finals of the F2 World Championships in Nottingham that saw him crash out twice in the weekend.  

Goodman had something to prove and hoped to retain his 2011 title and secured pole position as they headed into the first heat of the day.  

However further drama was to unfold as the first heat got underway. JPL Racing’s Ian Andrews crashed out at the right hand turn and Ian Wright and Paul Balfour also damaging their boats were forced to withdraw from the race.

The race was restarted but with Swans on the racing line another red flag saw the heat void and mounting pressure on Goodman and Alan Marshall as they vied for the championship win.  

Newcomer to the F2 Class Scott Curtis got a fantastic start in the second heat but Goodman powered past to secure the heat win, with Marshall taking third. So it would all go down to the final race of the season.  

Once more Curtis got the best start off the line as Malcolm seemed to get left behind, but as they came out of the first turn they were neck and neck. Heading round to past the start jetty Goodman started to edge away from Curtis, and despite Curtis battling back Goodman took the chequered flag first also securing the Grand Prix win and his second title of the year securing the F2 British Championship. Alan Marshall took double silver in both the Grand Prix and Championship.  

Final standings in the 2012 Powerboat GP RYA British F2 Championship:

  • 1st Malcolm Goodman
  • 2nd Alan Marshall
  • 3rd Ian Andrews  

It was then time for celebrations all round for both Stewartby Grand Prix winners and the 2012 Powerboat GP RYA British Championship winners.  

Powerboat GP would like to thank all the racers, Officials, Safety Crew and supporters for a fantastic season and are already looking forward to the 2013 season.

Report courtesy of RYA Powerboat Section