LPRC News‎ > ‎

Race Report - Turner Trophy

posted 2 Apr 2012, 07:50 by Lancashire Powerboat   [ updated 29 Apr 2012, 08:59 ]

Ben Morse and Mike Pillow lead the way in the LPRC Club Championship

Lancashire Powerboat Racing Club (LPRC) at Carr Mill Dam in St Helens was the setting for drivers from across the North West to battle it out for the honor of winning the Turner Trophy in the first race of the 2012 LPRC Club Championship on Sunday 1st April. 

Glorious blue skies met the racers although the conditions were far from perfect with strong gusty winds for the drivers to contend with. This was the first race in the annual racing calendar and the first chance for LPRC drivers to put their new kit and modifications to the test, after their winter break. 

Two junior drivers were out to impress in their brand new monohull boats Charlotte Newton (aged 13) from Lowton and Tiegen Goodfellow (aged 10) from Stafford. Both battled hard to get to grips with their new boats in all three of their race heats. They were joined on the water by GT30 driver Ben Morse, from Ashton-in-makerfield. Ben drove all out in the first heat and took the victory, although he did not go unchallenged with Tiegen taking first place in the second heat and Charlotte taking first place in the third heat. Ben’s consistency shone through and he took the overall title and gained the valuable LPRC Club Championship points for the junior/GT30 class.

In the Senior class returning driver Jason Brewer was hoping to make his comeback after over 10 years away from the sport. But due to a technical fault he had to withdraw his Formula 2 catamaran, leaving the racing to be battled out between three monohull drivers.

The Senior racing was fast and furious with all three boats closely matched by speed. They seemed to swop and change the lead in each of their three races, with Bill Owen taking the lead and clinching

first place in heat one. The advantage was snatched from him in the next two races as Mike Pillow gained the all-important first position to take the victory and the overall win of the day. This is a great start to the season for Mike who is defending his 2011 LPRC Championship Title. 

Many congratulations to all drivers who took part and we look forward to seeing them, and a few more racers at the next race at Carr Mill on Sunday 29th April where they will be competing for the Tangleaze Trophy. Following the racing, a presentation ceremony awarding the winning drivers took place in 'The Boathouse'.

 Juniors/GT30 Results

 Seniors Results
 1. Ben Morse
 2. Charlotte Newton
 3. Tiegen Goodfellow
 1. Mike Pillow
 2. Bill Owen
 3. Dave James